Is vodka gluten free?
Let’s find out!
You probably already know that you can’t drink most beer due to it’s hops and glutenous ingredients. But hard liquor, especially vodka, may seem like a safe bet.
Traditionally, vodka is made from grains such as wheat, rye, and barley. Some specialty vodkas would even come from corn, potatoes, and even grapes.
These specialty vodkas are quite possible the best options when it comes to trying to find the perfect gluten free vodka for you to enjoy.
If you’re allergic to gluten or Celiac, you’ve probably already know that you can’t drink most normal vodkas mainly because they have been distilled from glutenous grains.
To some, it may seem like there are little to no options left.
But thankfully you’re in luck because there are actually a number of grain free vodka’s for you to enjoy.
But just remember…
Vodka can be tricky…
Vodka believe it or not, is a very tricky alcohol for gluten free drinkers.
You see, technically, during the distillation process of the vodka, the gluten proteins from wheat based vodkas is supposed to be removed.
However, many people have claimed that these vodkas (made from wheat) still contain gluten, thus leaving them feeling sick and nauseous after consumption.
So to be safe, you should aim to steer clear from all wheat based vodkas if you have Celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, despite any claims of precise gluten protein removal.
However, on the bright side, you can still opt for a non-wheat, potato, corn, or grape based vodka which are typically cleared for gluten free consumption.
But there is one more thing to watch out for…
Below, you’ll find a listing of all the gluten free vodkas (and brands) that you can joy. But remember, some vodkas do come in special flavors, so it’s equally as important to make sure that those flavors are also gluten free.
Typically there aren’t any issues with vodka flavors containing gluten, but it’s just a precautionary.
So with that being said, let’s jump straight into this gluten free vodka list!
Gluten Free Vodka List
Here are all the safe gluten free vodka brands that you can purchase and enjoy. Just click on the name and you’ll be taken straight to the liquor company’s main webpage.
Chopin Polish Vodkaciroc
UV Vodka (vodka is gluten free, but the facility isn’t)
If you’re looking for the complete listing of ALL gluten free alcohol brands and their flavors/variations, be sure to check out our Ultimate Gluten Free Alcohol Guide.
Gluten Free Vodka FAQS
Here’s a few answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about gluten free beer. Hopefully this helps!
What is gluten free vodka made out of?
Most vodka is made out of barley, wheat and rye. But unlike normal vodka, gluten free ones are made from either potato, corn, or grapes.
What’s the gluten standard in vodka?
In the United States (and most countries), vodka (or hard liquor and alcohol in general) is considered gluten free if the gluten level is under 20 ppm (parts per million.)
In order to place a “gluten free” label on any bottle of vodka, it must by under 20 ppm, the FDA approval rating.
However, some people still tend to feel sick after drinking any alcoholic beverages that have been distilled. So be sure to drink at your own risk.
What gluten free vodka’s can I find in most restaurants?
Typically in most table service restaurants, you’ll find Ciroc, Tito’s, Smirnoff, and UV, just to name a few.
Is gluten free vodka more expensive than normal vodka?
No, this type of vodka is not more expensive. Like most alcohol, the higher the quality, the higher the price (usually). Believe it or not some of the best vodkas are actually cheaper than the more expensive ones such as Belvedere and Grey Goose.
What’s the best tasting gluten free vodka?
According to most people, the best mainstream vodka in general is Tito’s Handmade Vodka. This even beat out Grey Goose (not gluten free) and Ciroc in overall ratings and rankings.
Is Absolut Vodka, Grey Goose, Belvedere, SKYY, or Svedka gluten free?
No these brands do not sell any vodkas that don’t contain any gluten grains.
Just because a vodka is made from corn, potatoes, or grapes, is it always going to be safe?
No. One thing about some vodkas is that although the main ingredient may be corn, it could be mixed with other glutenous grains. So always be sure to read the labels or, or better, consult this listing.
Where can you find vodka that’s safe for Celiacs and those with gluten allergies and sensitivities?
You can easily find the vodkas listed above at most liquor stores. Only a few may have to be order from specialty shops or online.
Thanks for reading and hopefully you enjoyed this ultimate, in-depth gluten free vodka guide and list.
Please feel free to ask any questions or share any of your favorite gluten free vodka brands that we missed by leaving a comment below.
We’d love to hear your feedback.
P.S. Please share this listing with anyone that you absolutely know would love this list. Thanks!
Источник: www.urbantastebud.com, ©2017 Водочный редакторъ° www.vodka-redactor.org